Campus Articles

UF closes to celebrate Juneteenth

UF will be closed on Monday, June 19 in recognition of Juneteenth. The holiday commemorates the news of the Emancipation Proclamation freeing enslaved African Americans reaching Texas in 1865, nearly two years after the proclamation was issued.

Sasse Announces Interim Provost

Today, University of Florida President Dr. Ben Sasse announced that Dr. J. Scott Angle, currently Senior Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources, will serve as UF’s interim provost when Dr. Joseph Glover steps down next month.

UF Online Announces Partnership with Nicklaus Children’s Health System

UF Online, the University of Florida’s top-ranked online bachelor’s degree program, announced an education partnership with Nicklaus Children’s Health System, as part of a commitment to empower Florida healthcare workers in achieving their education goals today.

Hurricane season is here — keep current to stay current

With hurricane season just around the corner, we want to remind you of helpful resources available to support you in case of a tropical storm. We encourage everyone to become familiarized with the university’s emergency plans and take the necessary precautions in advance of a forecast.

How UF is preparing students for a new world of work

With artificial intelligence and other technological innovations poised to create major workforce disruptions, today’s college students are likely to change jobs many times over the course of their careers, experts project.

Co-responders aim to improve interactions, outcomes with campus community

UF implemented a co-responder program into its campus police department to better assist those suffering from a mental health crisis or experiencing mental distress. UF is the first higher education institution in the country to implement this crisis intervention model. 

UF confers honorary Doctor of Music degree on Tom Petty

In honor of the occasion, the Tom Petty family has established a powerful endowment to expand the guitar program and the music business & entrepreneurship program in the UF School of Music.

Erin Jackson's Commencement Speech for Spring 2023

UF engineering alumna Erin Jackson, a U.S. Olympic gold medalist speedskater, served as the Spring 2023 university-wide commencement speaker in Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Graduate Highlight: Two first-generation college graduates look to the future

More than 10,500 students are graduating from the University of Florida this spring. Among these graduates are two Machen Florida Opportunity Scholarship recipients who have big plans following graduation. 

A Gator nursing legacy: Graduate follows in parents’ footsteps

To the Bertulfo family, which spans two generations and soon-to-be three Gator grads, the UF College of Nursing is a second home. Jillian Bertulfo will be graduating with a Bachelor of Nursing Spring 2023, 30 years after her parents did.