Campus Life

UF Research Foundation names 2018 professors

The University of Florida Research Foundation has named 33 faculty members as UFRF Professors for 2018-2021.

The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

“Since 1997, more than 700 faculty members have been named UFRF Professors,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “Many have gone on to spectacular success, earning grants and fellowships from a wide array of public and private funding sources; publishing in the leading journals in their field; assuming institutional leadership positions; and commercializing their discoveries for the benefit of society.”

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise.

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

This year’s UFRF Professors are listed below:

UF/IFAS College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

Damian C. Adams, Associate Professor of Forest Resources & Conservation

Fredy Altpeter, Professor of Agronomy

James W. Jawitz, Professor and Associate Chair of Soil and Water Sciences

Bob McCleery, Associate Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

Kati W. Migliaccio, Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Sanjay Shukla, Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering

College of the Arts

Mitchell S. Estrin, Professor of Music

Warrington College of Business

Chris Janiszewski, Russell Berrie Eminent Scholar Chair of Marketing

College of Design, Construction and Planning

R. Edward Minchin, Jr., Rinker Professor of Construction Management

College of Dentistry

Seunghee Cha, Associate Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Diagnostic Sciences

College of Education

Pavlo "Pasha" Antonenko, Associate Professor of Education

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering

Anthony B. Brennan, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Sanjay Ranka, Professor of Computer & Information Science & Engineering

Timothy G. Townsend, Professor of Environmental Engineering Sciences

Florida Museum of Natural History

David W. Steadman, Curator of Research & Collections

College of Health & Human Performance

Yong Jae Ko, Professor of Tourism, Recreation, and Sport Management

College of Journalism and Communications

Timothy Sorel, Associate Professor of Telecommunication

Levin College of Law

Wentong  Zheng, Professor of Law

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Helene Blondeau, Associate Professor of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Gail E. Fanucci, Professor of Chemistry

Konstantinos Kapparis, Associate Professor of Classics

Konstantin Matchev, Professor of Physics

Barbara Mennel, Associate Professor of English

John Richard Stepp, Associate Professor of Anthropology

College of Medicine

Jennifer L. Bizon, Professor of Neuroscience and Psychiatry

George L. Drusano, Professor of Medicine

Alfred S. Lewin. Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Barry Setlow, Professor of Psychiatry

Dietmar W. Siemann, Professor of Radiation Oncology

College of Medicine-Jacksonville

Phyllis L. Hendry, Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics

College of Pharmacy

Eric G. Krause, Associate Professor of Pharmacodynamics

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Michael Robinson, Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology

College of Veterinary Medicine

Paul Cooke, Professor and Chair of Physiological Sciences

Joseph Kays Author
April 17, 2018