UF Research Foundation names 2019 professors

The University of Florida Research Foundation has named 32 faculty members as UFRF Professors for 2019-2022.

The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

“The UFRF Professorships recognize our most innovative and productive faculty, the best examples of researchers and scholars who have helped UF claim its place as a top 10 public university,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “Key to this recognition is that it is based not just on what they have done in the past, but what they are expected to achieve in the future. These are faculty who we anticipate will continue to generate cutting-edge research well into the future.”

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise.

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant.

The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

This year’s UFRF Professors are listed below:

College of the Arts

Maya Stanfield-Mazzi, Associate Professor of Art History

College of Dentistry

Marcelle Nascimento, Associate Professor of Restorative Dental Sciences

College of Education

Ester de Jong. Professor of Teaching and Learning

College of Health and Human Performance

Leonardo Ferreira. Associate Professor of Applied Physiology and Kinesiology

Levin College of Law

Berta Hernandez, Professor of Law

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Hai-Ping Cheng. Professor of Physics

Natalie Ebner. Associate Professor of Psychology

Michael Hofmann. Professor of English

Fiona McLaughlin. Professor of Linguistics & African Languages

Mario Poceski. Professor of Religion

W. David Wei. Associate Professor of Chemistry

College of Medicine

Shannon Boye. Associate Professor of Ophthalmology

Kelly Foote, Professor of Neurological Surgery

Benoit Giasson, Professor of Neuroscience

Joanna Long, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Duane Mitchell, Professor of Neurosurgery

College of Medicine - Jacksonville

Mark Hudak, Professor of Pediatrics

College of Nursing

Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini, Associate Professor of Health Care Environments and Systems

College of Pharmacy

Rhonda Cooper-Dehoff, Associate Professor of Pharmacotherapy

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Ronald Cohen, Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology

College of Veterinary Medicine

Rowan J. Milner, Professor of Oncology

Florida Museum of Natural History

Akito Kawahara, Associate Professor and Curator of Lepidoptera

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering

José A.B. Fortes, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Aysegul Gunduz, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Tanmay Lele, Professor of Chemical Engineering

Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences

Jeffrey Bloomquist, Professor of Entomology and Nematology

Stephen Flor, Associate Professor of Agronomy

Jiri Hulcr, Associate Professor of Forest Entomology

Matthew Smith, Associate Professor of Plant Pathology

Lukasz Stelinski, Associate Professor of Entomology and Nematology

Samantha Wisely, Associate Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

Warrington College of Business

Jay Ritter, Eminent Scholar in Finance, Insurance, and Real Estate

Joe Kays April 18, 2019