University of Florida announces the 2023 National Academy of Inventors Fellows

David P. Arnold and Bryony Bonning of the University of Florida have been named Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors, the organization announced Tuesday.

Arnold, of Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, focuses on research in electrophysics, and Bonning, of the Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences, focuses on molecular interactions between viruses and insects. 
 The National Academy of Inventors, which honors and promotes academic invention, selected 162 distinguished academic inventors as a part of its 2023 class. The full list of 2023 Fellows can be found here.
“This year’s class of NAI Fellows showcases the caliber of researchers that are found within the innovation ecosystem. Each of these individuals are making significant contributions to both science and society through their work,” said Dr. Paul R. Sanberg, president of the National Academy of Inventors. “This new class, in conjunction with our existing Fellows, are creating innovations that are driving crucial advancements across a variety of disciplines and are stimulating the global and national economy in immeasurable ways as they move these technologies from lab to marketplace. We are honored to welcome these highly regarded innovators to the Academy and look forward to formally inducting them at our 2024 Annual Conference in the Research Triangle of North Carolina.”
The 2023 Fellow class hails from 118 research universities, governmental and non-profit research institutions worldwide. This class includes 89 individuals from the Association of American Universities institutions and 128 individuals from R1 universities that boast very high research activity. Collectively, the 2023 Fellows hold over 4,600 issued U.S. patents. This year’s class includes 2 Nobel Laureates, 3 National Inventors Hall of Fame inductees, 22 members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, and individuals holding other honors and distinctions as well as senior leadership from universities and research institutions. Their work spans across disciplines and exemplifies their dedication and inspiration to translating research into commercial technologies that benefit society.
The 2023 class of Fellows will be honored and presented their medals by a senior official of the United States Patent and Trademark Office at the National Academy of Inventors 13th Annual Meeting on June 18 in Raleigh, North Carolina. The complete list of Fellows is available here.
David P. Arnold is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is currently on the editorial board of “J. Micromechanics and Microengineering” and “Energy Harvesting and Systems.”

Bryony C. Bonning is an eminent scholar and professor of entomology and nematology, and director of the Center for Arthropod Management Technologies (CAMTech), a National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Research Center. 

UF News December 13, 2023