SEC Announces 2016-17 Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows

October 18, 2016
Bryant Wellbourne, SEC

The 14 universities of the Southeastern Conference have each selected several faculty and administrators to participate in the 2016-17 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program, the league office announced Monday. 

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program (SEC ALDP) is a professional growth initiative that seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. It has two components: a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants and two, three-day, SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants.

“It is our strong belief that helping to prepare administrators for the next phase of their careers has the potential to impact all of higher education, both now and in the future,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. “Our universities make a significant investment in these individuals, and we are proud to work with them through this program.”

Since its creation in 2008, more than 300 faculty and academic administrators have completed the SEC ALDP, and program alumni have taken leadership roles as deans and provosts, among other senior-level positions, at universities around the SEC and country. For example, Dr. Laurence Alexander from the University of Florida’s 2012-13 cohort is currently the Chancellor at the University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, and Dr. Michael Hardin from the University of Alabama’s 2008-09 cohort is currently Provost at Samford University.

“The program cemented that I want to continue in administration despite knowing the challenges,” said Dr. Ana Franco-Watkins, Undergraduate Program Director in the Department of Psychology at Auburn University and former participant. “The connections I’ve made at Auburn and with other SEC ALDP fellows have provided me with a network and base to continue with my future trajectory.”

This year’s SEC ALDP workshops will be October 17-19 at the University of Alabama and February 22-24, 2017 at Mississippi State University.

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program is part of SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. The SEC supports and promotes the endeavors and achievements of the students and faculty at its 14 member universities.

Click here for the full list of 2016-17 SEC ALDP fellows.

Got a Story Idea? We're interested in hearing about it.

Tell Us

Connect with UF News

Mailing Address

PO Box 113075
Gainesville, FL 32611

Physical Address

101 Tigert Hall
300 SW 13th Street
Gainesville, FL 32611