Three UF faculty members named AAAS Fellows

November 24, 2015
Donna Winchester

Three University of Florida professors have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an honor given to AAAS members by their peers for their efforts to advance science or its applications. The three join 43 UF professors listed by the AAAS as fellows, a distinction also earned by UF President Kent Fuchs in 2010.

Jon Dobson, a joint professor in the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, for outstanding contributions to the development of magnetic micro- and nanoparticle-based technologies in cell engineering, regenerative medicine and gene transfection.

Yuguang “Michael” Fang, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, for distinguished research and teaching contributions to the field of electrical and computer engineering, particularly for wireless network design and cybersecurity.

Frank F. White, a professor of plant pathology in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, for distinguished contributions to the field of plant-pathogen interactions, with emphasis on determining the genetic bases of bacterial pathogenesis and plant disease resistance.

This year’s 347 fellows will be honored in February at the 2016 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C. The AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, has named fellows since 1874.

For more information, visit

Got a Story Idea? We're interested in hearing about it.

Tell Us

Connect with UF News

Mailing Address

PO Box 113075
Gainesville, FL 32611

Physical Address

101 Tigert Hall
300 SW 13th Street
Gainesville, FL 32611