American Physical Society honors UF professor

October 9, 2015
UF News

Distinguished Professor David Tanner has been awarded the 2016 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids. Tanner shares the prize with Dirk Van der Marel of the University of Geneva.

The Isakson prize is awarded biennially by the American Physical Society "to recognize outstanding optical research that leads to breakthroughs in the condensed matter sciences."

Specifically, the APS recognized Tanner for “insightful experiments and analyses on a wide variety of quantum solids with strong electronic correlations in general, and cuprate superconductors in particular, using optical spectroscopy.”

The award will be formally presented at a ceremony in Baltimore on March 14 during the course of the APS March Meeting. Tanner will also talk about his work at the same meeting.

For more information, please contact Kevin Ingersent at

Got a Story Idea? We're interested in hearing about it.

Tell Us

Connect with UF News

Mailing Address

PO Box 113075
Gainesville, FL 32611

Physical Address

101 Tigert Hall
300 SW 13th Street
Gainesville, FL 32611