UF Hall of Fame adds 23 new members to roster of leaders

Published: April 7 2014

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – The University of Florida announced 23 new members for the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is the highest recognition given to student leaders at the UF.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Award recipients are:

Julius Adewopo

Robert Andrade

Olivia Barket

Christina Bonarrigo

Anthony Castro

Brian Giaquinta

Megan Harmon

Jamie Heekin

Elizabeth Hyatt

Tiffany Joseph

Albert Kaminsky

Daniel Landesberg

Courtney Miller

Jordan Mullings

Dekendrick Murray

Phuong Nguyen

Jose Perez

Joselyn Rivas

Melody Schiaffino

Joshua Strelzik

Kayla Tran

Lauren Verno

Jayce Victor

Award recipients will be honored by President Bernie Machen and Vice President for Student Affairs Dave Kratzer at a ceremony in front of family and friends in April. This year, 99 students applied for the award. A committee composed of faculty, staff, and two former award recipients reviewed the applications.

Since 1921, UF Hall of Fame recognizes seniors and graduate students who have consistently demonstrated an outstanding commitment to improving the University of Florida through campus and community involvement, participation in organized campus activities, and scholastic achievement.

The Division of Student Affairs coordinates the award. Applications are available at the beginning of February every year.

Past award winners include George Smathers (1937), Stephen O’Connell (1938), Ralph Turlington (1942), Marshall Criser (1950), Steve Spurrier (1967), Susan Jacobs (1971), Danny Ponce (1973), Maruchi Azorin (1976), Dean Cannon (1990) and Jason Rosenberg (1990).

For more information and a complete list of past award winners, please visit http://www.ufsa.ufl.edu/students/honors_awards_scholarships/hall_of_fame/



Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories