Two engineering professors named Fellows by AAAS

Published: November 26 2013

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two University of Florida engineering professors have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, known as AAAS.

Bruce C. Wheeler, professor in the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering, was chosen for contributions to in vitro neural engineering technology and research, to the development of biomedical engineering departments, and to the engineering education.

Brij M. Moudgil, professor in the department of materials science and engineering and director of the Center for Particulate and Surfactant Systems, was chosen for contributions to the field of particle science and technology, particularly for engineered particulation systems for enhanced particulate systems for enhanced performance in existing and emerging technologies.

This year, 388 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 15 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Friday.

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine ( and Science Signaling (


Media Contact
Helen Goh,, 352-392-0984

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories