SEC recognizes UF professor for research, scholarship

Published: April 10 2013

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Larry DiMatteo, Huber Hurst Professor of Contract Law and Legal Studies at the University of Florida, is among the 14 professors from SEC member universities to receive the 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Award.

To be eligible to receive the award, a professor must be a teacher or scholar at a university; have achieved the rank of full professor at an SEC university; have a record of extraordinary teaching; and a record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

The awards provide an opportunity for each SEC university to showcase the strengths of its faculty, who excel in many disciplines with varying areas of expertise,” said Jay Gogue, president of Auburn University and President of the Southeastern Conference. “In the SEC, we are fortunate to have professors who understand the value of classroom instruction, research guidance and scholarly contributions to the overall success of student education.”

Each winner will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the Southeastern Conference and become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year receives an additional $15,000 honorarium and will be presented at the annual SEC Awards Dinner in Destin.

Chosen by a selection committee of SEC provosts, the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are part of a set of non-athletically related activities the Southeastern Conference has undertaken through its SECU academic initiative to encourage academic leadership and collaboration within the SEC membership.

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories