UF Hall of Fame adds 25 new students for 2013

Published: March 25 2013

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The University of Florida has announced 25 new members for the Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is the highest recognition given to student leaders at the UF.

The 2013 recipients are:
Ashley Dingman
Aynesse Geffrard
Brock Hankins
Bryan Stroud
Dana Somerstein
Hannah Swerdloff
Henna Ibrahim
Jesse Schmitt
Jose “TJ” Villamil IV
José Soto
Joshua Holtzman
Juan Rodriguez
Kara Mia Villanueva
Kimone Ferguson
Laura Beard
Meredith Raymond
Mitchell Cooper
Richard Carter
Sabine Justilien
Samantha Capone
Samantha Hockenberry
Severin Walstad
Shannon Pringle
Stephanie Salazar
Wesley Maul
Xavier Williams
Yun Min “Danny” Chang

Award recipients will be honored in April by President Bernie Machen and Vice President for Student Affairs Dave Kratzer at the ceremony in front of family and friends.

This year, 123 students applied for the award. The UF Hall of Fame is limited in size to no more than 25 students per a given year. A committee composed of faculty, staff and two former award recipients reviewed the applications.

Since 1921, UF Hall of Fame recognizes seniors and graduate students who have consistently demonstrated an outstanding commitment to improving the University of Florida through campus and community involvement, participation in organized campus activities, and scholastic achievement.

The Division of Student Affairs coordinates the award. Applications are available at the beginning of February every year.

Past award winners include George Smathers (1937), Stephen O’Connell (1938), Ralph Turlington (1942), Marshall Criser (1950), Steve Spurrier (1967), Susan Jacobs (1971), Danny Ponce (1973), Maruchi Azorin (1976), Dean Cannon (1990) and Jason Rosenberg (1990).

For more information and a complete list of past award winners, please visit http://www.ufsa.ufl.edu/students/honors_awards_scholarships/hall_of_fame/

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories