Swamp Symphony to recognize outstanding educators

Published: October 26 2012

Category:InsideUF, Top Stories

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Sunday’s Swamp Symphony event on Flavet Field will include awards for the University of Florida’s Homecoming Education Celebration 2012.

The 150th Anniversary of the Morrill Act Award was created in honor of the anniversary of the act that established the land grant university system, which includes UF. This award can be awarded to a single faculty member or an organization on campus that has exemplified the ideals of the Morrill Act through a project, research or a class in the last year.

The nominees are:
Center for Public Issues Education
R. Kirby Barrick
Tina Gurucharri & Kevin Thompson
Family Album Radio
Karla Shelnutt & Gail Kauwell
Florida Center for Renewable Chemicals and Fuels
Gator Citrus Club
Faculty of Microbiology & Cell Science Department

Education Celebration will also be awarding the 2012 Outstanding Mentor of Undergraduate Research Award. The nominees are Thomas Colquhuon, Michael Olexa, Maruja Torres, Howard Louthan, David Therriault, Amlan Biswas, Adam Veige and Adam Barry.

The final award is the 2012 Outstanding Faculty Award. The nominees are Lillian Guerra and Judy Page.

The winners of the awards will be chosen by a committee appointed by the Homecoming general chair.

For more information please visit www.gatorgrowl.org or email Hana Gehr the director of Education Celebration at hanna.gehr@ufhomecoming.org.

Category:InsideUF, Top Stories