Thirty-three faculty named UF Research Foundation Professors for 2012

Published: March 29 2012

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The University of Florida Research Foundation has named 33 faculty members as UFRF Professors for 2012-2015.

The recognition goes to faculty members who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

The UFRF professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise.

“Deans, department chairs and colleagues use words like ‘scholar of highest distinction,’ ‘one of the best young talents in his field,’ and ‘one of our most productive faculty members,’ to describe these researchers’ work,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “Typically, these researchers on the cutting edge of their fields are also recognized as outstanding mentors of graduate and undergraduate students. It is scholars like these that make the University of Florida one of the nation’s great research institutions.”

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

This year’s UFRF Professors are listed below.

Warrington College of Business
Jay R. Ritter
Department of Finance, Insurance and Real Estate

College of Dentistry
Robert Caudle
Department of Maxillofacial Surgery

College of Design, Construction and Planning
R. Raymond Issa
M.E. Rinker Sr. School of Building Construction

College of Education
Nancy Dana
School of Teaching and Learning

College of Engineering
Warren E. Dixon
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Paul Gader
Department of Computer and Information Sciences and Engineering

Kevin S. Jones
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

College of Fine Arts
Joan D. Frosch
School of Theatre and Dance

Florida Museum of Natural History
Keith R. Willmott
McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity

College of Health and Human Performance
Chris J. Hass
Department of Applied Physiology and Kinesiology

Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences
Micheal S. Allen
School of Forest Resources and Conservation

James H. Graham, Jr.
Citrus Research and Education Center

Lena Q. Ma
Department of Soil and Water Science

Timothy A. Martin
School of Forest Resources and Conservation

Lynn E. Sollenberger
Department of Agronomy

David L. Wright
North Florida Research and Education Center

College of Journalism and Communications
Ronald R. Rodgers
Department of Journalism

College of LawElizabeth A. Rowe
College of Law

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Badredine Arfi
Department of Political Science

Jesse Dallery
Department of Psychology

Sidney I. Dobrin
Department of English

Jonathan B. Martin
Department of Geological Sciences

Douglas Soltis
Department of Biology

Gregory Stewart
Department of Physics

College of MedicineArthur S. Edison
Department of Biochemistry and Biology

Douglas Grant McFadden
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Kelli Komro
Department of Health Outcomes and Policy

Colin Sumners
Department of Physiology and Functional Genomics

I. David Weiner
Department of Medicine

College of NursingCharlene A. Krueger
Department of Women’s, Children’s and Family Nursing

College of PharmacyMaureen Keller-Wood
Department of Pharmacodynamics

College of Public Health and Health ProfessionsMichael Marsiske
Department of Clinical and Health Psychology

College of Veterinary Medicine Ayalew Mergia
Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology


Joseph Kays,, 352-392-8229

Category:Announcements, InsideUF, Top Stories